Fat Girls/Thin Girls

Fat Girls/Thin Girls by Kerry Hammerton

I never thought I would
write a poem about fat girls,
the not so thin girls,
the wobble-thigh girls,
the kaftan girls,
the never wear jeans girls.

I never thought I would
write about fat girls,
the not so thin girls,
the no sex for eight years girls,
the eating chocolate everyday girls
the no exercise girls.

I never thought I would
write about fat girls,
the not so thin girls,
now that I am a thinner girl,
a not so fat girl.

When I was a fat girl,
a not so thin girl,
the never elegant girl
the not good looking girl
you never told me.

Now that I am a thinner girl,
a not so fat girl,
the looking good girl,
the fabulous girl,
you tell me everyday.

One thought on “Fat Girls/Thin Girls

  1. charlotte

    Simply loved the poem. The more I read it, the better it got.
    It was humerous – yet, with a slight poignancy.
    One certanly could relate to it.

Leave a Reply

