I can’t fall in love

by Kerry Hammerton

or fall into love or fly
or soar or any of those things,

instead something takes hold
of my feet, fumbles them,
shuts down synapses
in my brain, infects random
parts of my body, like the spot
in my diaphragm that plays
havoc with my breathing,
or my left thumb that twitches
at unexpected moments,
and tingles below my ears
and constricts my throat
when I think of you,
blurs my eyes,
it spreads every time
I hear your voice,
read your name.

Soon I will be lying paralysed
on the floor.

One thought on “I can’t fall in love

Leave a Reply

