How alone my body has been

by Kerry Hammerton

all these years

it didn’t know
the soft hollow behind your knee
hadn’t felt
your hands kneading my calves,
stroking the back of my neck

all these years
it didn’t know you would lean in
to kiss me,
that you would love
my belly button, my appendix scar

all these years
it didn’t know the hard curve
of your arms,
hadn’t felt your breath dance
across my skin,
the nip tuck of your lips,
your teeth

it didn’t know
all these years
how skin-tight
your hands would hold my hands,
how your finger would trace
an inkless tattoo across my back

all these years
it didn’t know you would steal
my limbs,
how your body
would dig into my body

it didn’t know
you would gather me up
tongue whispers into my ear

how I would fall

it didn’t know

it didn’t know

all these years
how alone my body has been

Leave a Reply

