Brand Labels

by Michael Keeling

Why do we?
Why do we wear them?
The makers name
spoiling the classic lines.

Why do we?
Why do we pay more?
Should they not be paying us
for advertising their wares?

Is it simply vanity?
Simply showing off?
“Look at me, my jacket, my handbag,
I’m in the big league!”

They’ve done a great job
getting something for nothing
from our narcissism.
We are so easily conned.

Me? Well I do sport a tick
on my running shoes
but would never buy a suit
with Saville Row blazoned all over it.
Quality speaks for itself.

Leave a Reply

