Cliches

by Kerry Hammerton

Last month I heard myself say
baptism of fire. Last week
stand shoulder to shoulder
and all that glitters is not gold slipped
out from between my teeth.
Yesterday it was from pillar to post
and all talk and no action.
Today I’ve started with
what goes around comes around,
I even tried tomorrow is another day.
Tomorrow I’ve lined up in for a penny,
in for a pound, don’t count your chickens
before they hatch and all hands on deck.
I may even use glass shards in a poem,
although that may be taking things too far.

Leave a Reply

