Still life with flag

by Elizabeth Trew

Naturaleza muerte con bandera (after Frida Kahlo)

I am painting myself as the fruit
Diego picked from my garden this morning
and laid beside my wounded self

lifting myself up to the easel
hoisted above my severed leg
and fractured spine

painting strokes with my sable brush
hot- coloured melons and citrus
I am round and ripe

heavy with child, my breasts swollen
with milk, my melon seeds
black inside blood-red flesh

the orange cut of my damaged sex
rests on Diego’s yellow fruit

against a deep jade sky
I have planted the Mexican flag
on my tender fruit

I am luscious
ready

Leave a Reply

