Ode to my sofa bed

by Liz Trew

Before setting eyes on you
I’d laid my head on many beds,
those fly-by-nights …
sunken beds with broken strings
hairy beds in rented rooms
slippery sleeping bags
countless recliners
narrow bunks
once I was caught in a hammock-web…
I tried a modest twin
and a sumptuous king
but none like you
and although you’ve changed
from cream to salmon to midnight blue
in cotton twill
I still fold
unfold the same old you,
your solid frame, strong arms and back
your everlasting springs …

Leave a Reply

