Say that again

by Pam Newham

Sometimes in a restaurant
or at a dinner party where
there’s chatter, maybe music
I battle to hear and have no idea
what those around me say
so I’ve perfected the interested look,
the slightly inclined head,
the non-commital smile,
the empathetic murmer,
the knowing nod.

So, if you should sit next to me
in a restaurant or at a dinner party
where there’s chatter, maybe music
try not to appear too surprised
when you tell me your favourite aunt
passed away and I, head inclined,
give you an interested look,
nod knowingly and (empathetically) say
“Don’t worry, dear, lots of people are gay. “

Leave a Reply

