Hooked

by Michael Keeling

I’m getting hooked on this poetry lark

It’s fun and it fills up the time

When trying to sleep

It’s better than sheep

I’ll be snoring before the third line.

While cleaning my teeth

While laying a wreath

While taking a walk in the park

Where’er I meander

I’ll write the odd stanza

When hooked by this poetry lark.

I’m getting hooked on this poetry lark

A lost word while combing my hair

A couplet or two

When I go to the loo

A thought when I hit the fresh air.

While sweeping the yard

While playing a card

While finding my way in the dark

Where’er I meander

I’ll write the odd stanza

When hooked by this poetry lark.

I’m getting hooked on this poetry lark

I can’t get it out of my mind

It swamps the grey matter

It’s fish in beer batter

No finer dish will you find.

While pruning the hedge

While signing the pledge

While joining the aard to the vark

Where’er I meander

I’ll write the odd stanza

Yes, I’m hooked by this poetry lark!

Leave a Reply

