Termination of Lease

by Lise Day

I am writing this letter
to notify you (property manager)
of my intention to vacate
your heart, your head, your life
with immediate effect.
I have found that your heart
has become too small
for my accommodation needs.
Your head no longer resembles
the property for which
I signed the lease.
The open spaces which I loved
are now in disrepair,
imbued with anger,
befuddled with drink.
There is a lack of maintenance.
Your life is riddled with
unsavoury characters
who wander in and out at will.
The alarm system is compromised.
I no longer feel safe.
We may schedule a walk-through inspection
to assess damages on both sides.

Leave a Reply

