Instead

by Pamela Newham

Instead of the bus to Pretoria
I may have taken a tram to town
on that particular Saturday.

Instead of visiting your cousin
you may have gone to see
your soon-to-be-ex girlfriend.

Instead I went to visit my friend Gillian.
Instead you went to visit your cousin
on that particular Saturday.

Instead I saw you in your aunt’s living room
with your khaki eyes and navy whites.

Instead you saw me walk through the door
in my new pink dress and long hair.

Instead of everything else
that could have happened
on that particular Saturday
the nineteen-year-old you
met the eighteen-year-old me.

Leave a Reply

